This post presents an index to the research gathered since 2009 that tells the stories of Maine’s Lost Trotting Parks. Between 1890 and 1930 there were overtime at least 90 trotting parks that were registered with the National Trotting Association. Over the years there may have been slightly over 100 Maine communities with trotting parks. Today there are two private tracks and eight agricultural fairs offering harness racing. Demonstration racing occurs at Blue Hill, Cornish and Pembroke.

Click on the link beneath each county!

Index to Maine’s Lost Trotting Parks by its Sixteen Counties

Androscoggin County

Aroostook County

Cumberland County

Franklin County

Hancock County

Kennebec County

Knox County

Lincoln County

Oxford County

Penobscot County

Piscataquis County

Sagadahoc County

Somerset County

Waldo County

Washington County

York County